Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

Activity Discussion General Discussion National Flag of India Reply To: National Flag of India

  • Nitesh

    January 17, 2024 at 3:30 pm
    Not Helpful

    The design of the National Flag of India was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on July 22, 1947, just before India gained independence from British rule. The design was based on the ideas and concepts put forward by Pingali Venkayya, an Indian freedom fighter and a member of the Indian National Congress. The flag consists of three horizontal stripes of saffron, white, and green, with a blue chakra (wheel) in the center, known as the Ashoka Chakra. The flag holds deep symbolic significance, with the saffron stripe representing courage and sacrifice, the white stripe representing peace and truth, the green stripe representing fertility, and the Ashoka Chakra representing the “wheel of law” or the dharma.

For Worksheets & PrintablesJoin Now