Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

Activity Discussion Environment What is water Cycle? Describe its 4 main stages. Reply To: What is water Cycle? Describe its 4 main stages.

  • Amrapali

    July 5, 2024 at 12:40 pm
    Not Helpful

    The water cycle, also known as the hydrologic cycle, is the continuous movement of water on, above, and below the Earth’s surface. It is a fundamental process that sustains all life on our planet. The four main stages of the water cycle are:


    This is the process where water from oceans, lakes, rivers, and other water bodies is converted into water vapor due to the sun’s heat.

    Transpiration, the release of water vapor from plants, is also part of this stage.


    As the water vapor rises in the atmosphere, it cools and condenses into tiny water droplets or ice crystals, forming clouds.


    When the water droplets or ice crystals in the clouds become too heavy to remain airborne, they fall back to the Earth’s surface as precipitation, such as rain, snow, sleet, or hail.

    Surface runoff and groundwater:

    Precipitation that falls on the Earth’s surface either flows over the land as surface runoff, eventually reaching oceans and other water bodies, or infiltrates the soil and becomes groundwater.

    Groundwater can later resurface through springs, wells, or be extracted for human use, completing the cycle.

    This continuous cycle of evaporation, condensation, precipitation, and surface/groundwater flow ensures the constant movement and recycling of water on our planet, making it a vital process for sustaining life and the environment.

For Worksheets & PrintablesJoin Now