Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.


  • Rhona

    July 4, 2024 at 3:23 pm
    Not Helpful

    There are 12 main tenses in the English language:

    Simple Present

    Present Continuous

    Present Perfect

    Present Perfect Continuous

    Simple Past

    Past Continuous

    Past Perfect

    Past Perfect Continuous

    Simple Future

    Future Continuous

    Future Perfect

    Future Perfect Continuous

    These 12 tenses are formed using various combinations of the verb “to be”, “to have”, and the base verb form.

    The 12 tenses can be further divided into the following categories:

    Simple Tenses (Present, Past, Future)

    Continuous/Progressive Tenses (Present Continuous, Past Continuous, Future Continuous)

    Perfect Tenses (Present Perfect, Past Perfect, Future Perfect)

    Perfect Continuous Tenses (Present Perfect Continuous, Past Perfect Continuous, Future Perfect Continuous)

    Each tense is used to describe actions, states of being, or events that occur at different points in time – the present, past, or future. Mastering the proper use of these 12 tenses is essential for communicating precisely in English.

    The exact number and categorization of tenses can vary slightly based on different grammar frameworks, but the 12 tenses outlined above represent the core tense system in standard English grammar.

For Worksheets & PrintablesJoin Now