Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

Activity Discussion Essay The classical dance forms in India.


  • tanya

    June 2, 2021 at 12:22 am
    Not Helpful

    Indian Classical dance is the term that is used for numerous performance arts rooted in musical theater styles. There are a number of classical dances in India, ranging from 8 to 15. The Sangeet Natak Academy bestows 8 classical status on 8 Indian classical dance forms.

    The Indian classical dance forms are Bharatnatyam, Kathak, Kathakali, Manipuri, Kuchipudi, Odissi, Mohiniyattam, and Sattriya. Bharatnatyam is the classical dance of Tamil Nadu. Kathak is followed by the people of North, West, and Central Delhi. The people of Kerala accept the dance form Kathakali. Kuchipudi is the famous classical dance of Andhra Pradesh. The people of Orissa believe in the dance form of Odissi. Manipuri is the classical dance form of Manipur. Mohiniyattam is the classical dance of Kerala whereas Sattriya is the classical dance form of Assam.

    Indian classical dance forms are generally performed in religious activities. They are presented as a part of some expressive plays which include some story-telling and it also forms a part of entertainment for the people.

    There have been many famous dancers in each of these classical dance forms. Rukmini Devi, Padma Subramanyam, Vyjayanthimala, And Sheema Kermani have been some incredible Bharatnatyam dancers of their time. Birju Maharaj, Nahid Siddiqui, Sambhu Maharaj, Lacchu Maharaj, Gopi Krishna have made their names stand out in the field of Kathak. Kalamandalam, Krishnan Nair, Ramanakutty Nair have been the famous performers of Kathakali. Mallika Sarabhai, V. Satyanarayana Sarma, Deepa Shashindran have been some unbelievable performers in the field of Kuchipudi dance form. Sujata Mohapatra, Madhavi Mudgal Kelucharan Mohapatra, etc have been performing the dance form Odissi. Kalamandalam Kalyanikutty Amma, Shobhana, Sunanda Nair, Kalamandalam Radhika, Thankamani, etc have been incredibly important for the dance form Mohiniyattam.

    There are three categories in the Indian classical dance forms. They are Nritta, Nritya, and Natya. The Nritta is a fast and rhythmic aspect of the dance. The Nritya is a comparatively slower and expressive kind of dance form. The Natya is generally a play, usually a team performance.

For Worksheets & PrintablesJoin Now