Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

Activity Discussion Essay Write an essay on Navratri.

Tagged: ,

  • tanya

    June 11, 2021 at 2:22 pm
    Not Helpful

    Navratri is one way of worshiping Goddess Durga. This festival is celebrated all over India in different forms. The word Navratri is made up of two words- Nav and Ratri. Nav means nine and Ratri means night. This festival is rejoiced for nine nights. It goes on for nine nights and ten days. It is generally celebrated in the month of October or November.

    It is celebrated four times in a year- Sharada Navratri, Vasanta Navratri, Magha Navratri, and Ashada Navratri. Out of these, Sharada Navratri is the most famous across India. In the North-Eastern and Eastern states, It is generally celebrated by the name of Durga Puja. As per the holy scriptures, the demon emperor Mahishasura, with all his heart worshipped Lord Siva and achieved enormous powers. He went on to perform inhumanity against people. The holy triad of Brahma, Vishnu, and Siva merged their powers and formulated Goddess Durga to safeguard the world from the evil powers of Mahishasura.

    In Northern, Southern, and Western states, Navratri is referred to as Ram Lila and celebrated in the form of Dussehra. It generally signifies the victory of good over evil, where Lord Rama defeated Ravana, as also elaborated in the Ramayana.

    The first day of Navratri is the day of Goddess Parvati which is incarnated as Shailputri. She is depicted as the incarnation of Mahakali. On the second day, Brahmacharini, which symbolizes calmness and peace is worshipped. On the third day, Chandraghanta, a depiction of the form of Goddess, portraying her vivaciousness is worshipped.

    Symbolizing her creative power, Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth day. The strength of a mother when her children are in danger, referred to as Skandamata is worshipped on the next day. Characterizing courage, Katyayani is worshipped on the sixth day. Mahakali, one of the most violent forms of Goddess Durga is worshipped on the seventh day. Mahagauri, depicting peace and optimism is worshipped on the eighth day. And on the last day, Goddess Sidhidatri rests on the lotus and transmits wisdom and the beauty of nature.

For Worksheets & PrintablesJoin Now