Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

Activity Discussion History Taj Mahal

  • Sahil

    June 19, 2023 at 12:02 am
    Not Helpful

    The Taj Mahal, an architectural masterpiece and one of the most famous landmarks in the world, was built in the 17th century. Construction of the Taj Mahal began in 1632 and was completed in 1653. It is located in the city of Agra, in the northern Indian state of Uttar Pradesh.

    The Taj Mahal was commissioned by the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan as a mausoleum for his beloved wife, Mumtaz Mahal. Mumtaz Mahal was Shah Jahan’s third wife and his favorite. She passed away in 1631 while giving birth to their 14th child. Grief-stricken by her death, Shah Jahan decided to construct a magnificent memorial in her honor.

    The emperor hired a team of skilled architects, craftsmen, and laborers from across the Mughal Empire and beyond to bring his vision to life. The design of the Taj Mahal is often attributed to a Persian architect named Ustad Ahmad Lahauri, although several other architects and artisans contributed to its construction.

    The Taj Mahal is renowned for its exquisite beauty and is considered a masterpiece of Mughal architecture, blending elements from Persian, Islamic, and Indian architectural styles. It is primarily constructed from white marble, which was sourced from various regions of India and neighboring countries.

    The mausoleum stands on a raised platform and is surrounded by beautiful gardens. Its main dome is the most prominent feature, rising to a height of around 73 meters (240 feet) and adorned with intricate calligraphy and decorative elements. The exterior of the Taj Mahal is adorned with delicate marble inlays, featuring intricate floral patterns, geometric designs, and Quranic inscriptions.

    The Taj Mahal is not just a symbol of love but also a symbol of the grandeur and artistic achievements of the Mughal Empire. Today, it attracts millions of visitors from around the world who come to admire its architectural beauty and learn about the poignant love story behind its creation. It was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983 and is considered one of the New Seven Wonders of the World.

For Worksheets & PrintablesJoin Now